Park Independent School District
14705 Woodforest Blvd. w Houston, Texas 77015 w (832) 386-1231
Craig Eichhorn w Director of Communications

May 25, 2007



            The Anchor Club of North Shore was recently notified that they have been awarded first place as the “International Outstanding Anchor Club of the Year” by Pilot International.  Team members will receive the award during the Pilot International Convention which is scheduled for July 11-14 in Norfolk, Virginia.
            Previously, the Anchor Club of North Shore was named the Outstanding Anchor Club of the Year for the entire Texas District.  Club members began to make plans then to attend the Pilot International Convention this summer to represent the Texas District in Norfolk/Virginia Beach, Virginia in hopes of receiving this international award.
            “We are so excited. Winning this award has not really sunk in yet for us,” said Connie Hernandez, one of the advisors of the group. “None of us were aware that the winner of this award would be announced in advance of the convention. We will proudly accept the award in July.”
            Receiving the first place international award will be Veronica Pecero, club president, Monica Rodriguez, the outstanding club entry project chair and two advisors, Connie Hernandez and Laura Abel.  Also attending will be Dominick Flores, Areli Dozal, Michelle Rodriguez, Melissa Rodriguez, Racquel Hulin and Chris Lognion (advisor).
            The Anchor Club, sponsored by both the San Jacinto Pilot Club and North Shore Senior High School, is a service club for students in grades 9-12 that was created in 1952 by Pilot International as a way to get young people involved in volunteer activities within the school and local community. North Shore’s Anchor Club was established in March 2004 and club members have been active in service projects since its inception. There are currently 140 members in the Anchor Club of North Shore, making the group the largest in the state.

Anchor Club
Anchor Club members (l-r) are:  Chris Lognion (advisor), Laura Abel (advisor), Areli Dozal, Michelle Rodriguez, Melissa Rodriguez, Veronica Pecero, Racquel Hulin, Dominick Flores and Connie Hernandez (advisor).  Anchor Club team member Monica Rodriguez is not pictured.