Park Independent School District
14705 Woodforest Blvd. w Houston, Texas 77015 w (832) 386-1231
Craig Eichhorn w Director of Communications

November 7, 2006



           Three North Shore Senior High School students who have been named National Achievement Scholars were recognized by Dr. Mark Henry, superintendent of schools, and Jeff Miller, president of the Board of Trustees, during the Nov. 13 Board meeting.
           Marcus Collins, Braylon Gurnell and Krystal Hill were recognized for their exceptional academic promise along with approximately 4,600 Achievement Scholars throughout the nation.
           The National Achievement Scholarship Program is an academic competition established in 1964 to provide recognition for outstanding Black American high school students. Black students may enter both the National Achievement Program and the National Merit® Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) and meeting other published requirements for participation. The two annual programs are conducted concurrently but operated and funded separately. A student’s standing is determined independently in each program. Black American students can qualify for recognition and be honored as Scholars in both the National Merit Program and the National Achievement Program, but can receive only one monetary award from NMSC.

Shown from the Nov. 13 Board meeting are (l-r): Dr. Mark Henry, Marcus Collins, Braylon Gurnell, and Jeff Miller.