Communications Department
14705 Woodforest Blvd., Houston, TX 77015

July 19, 2011
CONTACT: Jonathan Frey
(832) 386-1231

GPISD Receives Certificate of Achievement
for Excellence in Financial Reporting

       Galena Park Independent School District has received the Certificate of Excellence in Financial Reporting Award from the Association of School Business Officials (ASBO) for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2010. The award is for the district's Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR).
       ASBO International, founded in 1910, is a professional association, which provides programs and services to promote the highest standards of school management practices, professional growth, and the effective use of educational resources.

       The Certificate of Excellence is the highest form of recognition in the area of governmental accounting and financial reporting. Attaining this recognition is a significant accomplishment for the District and its business department. The CAFR is judged by an impartial panel to meet the high standards of the program which includes demonstrating a constructive "spirit of full disclosure" to clearly communicate its financial story and motivate potential users and user groups to read the CAFR. The award is only conferred to school systems that have met or exceeded the standards of the program.

       "Being recognized for our District's CAFR by ASBO International really highlights the integrity and technical competence of our district's business office staff" said Dr. Angi Williams, Interim Superintendent of Schools. "The District's approach to financial reporting creates transparency and enhances a two-way communication opportunity with key stakeholders as well as within the community we serve."

       Along with earning the Texas Comptroller's Leadership Circle Gold award for financial transparency, this achievement reinforces Galena Park ISD's credibility and honesty in its financial dealings.

Financial Department

Superintendent Dr. Angi Williams presents Board of Trustees recognition to Vikas Chaphekar, Mike Ball and Yvonne Johnson.